National Opportunities & Awards

Opportunities for Women

This four-day, interactive seminar provides women at the assistant professor or instructor level with the knowledge and skills required to navigate the landscape of academic medicine enterprise and continue on a path to leadership. Attendees develop academic medical and scientific career-building skills, including: communication, conflict management, financial acumen and strategic thinking.

The Hedwig van Ameringen Executive Leadership in Academic Medicine program is a year-long, part-time fellowship for female faculty in schools of medicine, dentistry and public health. The program is dedicated to developing the professional and personal skills required to lead and manage in today's complex healthcare environment, with special attention given to the unique challenges facing women in leadership positions. More than 1,000 ELAM alumni hold leadership positions in institutions around the world. Individual women are nominated in order to participate.

National Awards

The AAMC Award for Excellence in Medical Education honors an individual or a team of two individuals whose contributions have had a demonstrable impact on advancing medical education. As the AAMC’s most prestigious honor, the AAMC Award for Excellence in Medical Education recognizes the highest standards in medical education.

The Rogers Award is granted annually to a medical school faculty member who has made major contributions to improving the health and healthcare of American people.

The Pride in the Profession Award honors physicians whose lives encompass the true spirit of being a medical professional: caring for people. By practicing medicine in areas of challenge or crisis, or by devoting their time to volunteerism or public service, these physicians serve as the voice of patients in the United States who otherwise might not be heard.

Named after the founder of the AMA, the Dr. Nathan Davis International Award in Medicine recognizes physicians whose influence reach the international patient population and change the future of their medical care. By treating, educating and counseling patients beyond the U.S. border, these physicians' work positively impacts healthcare in the global arena.

The Dr. Debasish Mridha Spirit of Medicine Award recognizes the work of a U.S. physician who has demonstrated altruism, compassion, integrity, leadership and personal sacrifice while providing quality healthcare for a destitute, distressed or marginalized population in an impoverished community.

The Jack B. McConnell, M.D., Award for Excellence in Volunteerism recognizes the work of senior physicians who provide treatment for U.S. patients who lack access to healthcare. After a full career of practice, these physicians remain dedicated to the future of medicine through the spirit of volunteerism.

This award is given to an individual who has made outstanding contributions to promoting justice in medical education and healthcare equity in the U.S.

This award recognizes an outstanding junior faculty member committed to a career in academic medicine who has demonstrated leadership addressing medical education and healthcare inequities in the United States as well as educational and societal healthcare needs within racial and ethnic minorities.

Office of Faculty Affairs
575 Lexington Ave., Suite 640
New York, NY 10022
Phone: (646) 962-8770
Fax: (646) 962-0685

Office of Faculty Development
Lasdon House
420 E. 70th St., 2nd Floor
New York, NY 10021
Phone: (646) 962-5737